London Study Abroad: Day 8-9 (Trip to WALES!)

Wale oh wale…

I’ve been so busy these past few days, I haven’t even been able to blog! But wow has it been so much fun.

Saturday morning I woke up bright and early at 5:30 a.m. to leave for Wales with the University of Westminster. We had around a four hour journey (they had us ride in two coach buses, my group claimed the back of ours) before arriving in the country of Wales!

We traveled to the lovely city of Cardiff and first stopped by a local food fair. We had plans to go into the city, but our tour guide decided to have us stay at the fair instead. We walked around the booths multiple times, and wow did it smell yummy (you guys already know I love food and food fairs). I wish we would have gone into town, but I still had a great time with my friends and was able to try a real Polish pierogi. I got one stuffed with roasted butternut squash, herbs and feta. It was AMAZING. The picture does not do justice. Here I also had Costa for the first time (one of their big cafe/coffee shops here), and they have great Americanos (the closest thing I can get to real coffee here). Also the final two pics below show the Wales version of an “American diner” and we loved looking through their menu (full of chili dogs and food named after Southern states haha)!

One of the coolest parts of our day, or trip really, was seeing the Caerphilly Castle. There’s hundreds of years of history within these walls, and I’ve never seen a castle before! We were able to walk around some of the grounds and go up in a few areas-who knows who has walked those paths before me…

For dinner we unintentionally split up boys and girls at different tables, but it ended up being so much fun! I was able to get to know the girls more, and we ate at a delicious restaurant that had a mix of many different types of foods (can’t remember the name though). Dani and I split an Italian sampler plate-it was delicious! We also pretended it was one of the guy’s in our groups birthday, Jack, and had the restaurant sing to him in front of everyone. The look on every one of their faces at that table was priceless!

IMG_6032
Italian Sampler!

We stopped by another castle the next day as well as Tintern Abbey. At one point we went to a bridge where if you stood in the middle of it, you were in both Wales and England!

Our final stop was to view the ruins of a Roman amphitheater and Roman baths. We were also able to stop by one of the national museums of Wales, which had some awesome artifacts. Just check out the pics and you’ll get a good taste.

My friend Sienna took some pictures of me at the Caerphilly Castle-they’re so cute! We also took a group picture at Tintern Abbey, wow do I already love these people.

IMG_6165
Caerphilly Castle
IMG_6170
Caerphilly Castle
IMG_6171
I LOVE THESE PEOPLE (Kasper, Jack, Pierre, Dani, Turner, me, Juliette, Andreas, Sienna, Bekah)

P.S. Two pictures for you today! The first one is saddening, but I saw the apartment that had the massive fire in London a month ago. The building was Grenfell Tower in North Kensington. It broke my heart to see the building like this and hear about the horrors of the lives lost in this accident. One of the leaders from the university told us this will be a day that goes down in history for London. Second, I had no idea something like this existed, but apparently there is something you can buy called “Fuzzy Brush,” which is the chewable toothbrush! So weird, but so cool.

IMG_6160
Grenfell Tower in North Kensington, London-post fire

IMG_5931

One thought on “London Study Abroad: Day 8-9 (Trip to WALES!)

Leave a Reply

