London Study Abroad: Day 4 (Jack the Ripper tour, street art, new pastries)

Today was our first rainy day in London…yet somehow the city was still stunning and beautiful.

In class we watched the movie “My Devil’s Advocate,” which was a legal film with a bit more supernatural twists to it than most. It was pretty weird honestly towards the end, but it showed us some key themes and things directors tend to do in dramatic legal films.

Below are some pictures of the area around my campus to give a better feel of what it’s like here:

My afternoon was pretty uneventful as I’m still a bit behind on sleep, but this evening our CEA group went out for a Jack the Ripper tour around Shoreditch…and it ROCKED. Our tour guide was hilarious and knew so much about the area, and we learned a lot of history, not just the murder stories. Our coordinator then took us to one of her favorite pubs and we all hangout for a bit there.

Below are a few pics from the tour with captions explaining them:

Afterwards everyone was going back to their area to grab dinner, and I wanted to join in too. Unfortunately I forgot my Oyster Card (which is what you use to travel on the bus, train, or tube for convenience and cheaper pricing) and again, they live 3.5 miles from me, but I decided to just pay the extra to buy two single far passes and join them. And let me tell you, it was well worth it! The laughs we had tonight were worth every penny (and yes, they have a penny here too).

Side note: at the end of the Jack the Ripper tour, the tour guide shouted the word murder and jumped towards our closest group member to be funny and scare her (and us). The person he chose was Dani standing next to him, and she just so happened to be on one foot with the other leaning against the wall. Not only was she terrified, but she fell backwards and kept trying to catch herself multiple times before finally taking around 7 steps back. It was one of the funniest things I’ve ever seen, and we all couldn’t stop talking about it all night long.

Even though I had to walk in the rain most of the day, I got some great photographs to show a little more of what London looks like in my borough. I walked a mile from my hall to the tour area, and it was full of lively places and tons of street art.

I’m going to mention this in another blog, but most people only post a minority of what London actually looks like. You know, the pretty pictures of the classic buildings and areas. But a lot of London is pretty gritty and even dirty at times. Yet the architecture of the city and in my opinion, array of diversity and accents, really brings it alive in ways that are hard to describe in words. But I’ll talk more about this another time.

P.S. I’ve been craving sweets for a couple days here but haven’t wanted to spend money on just “average” sweets. But today there was the cutest shop by our tour, so I took some pics, talked with the worker for a bit, and tried something I never heard of called Canelle (soft and spongy citrus like cake is the best way to describe it). Check it out!

5 thoughts on “London Study Abroad: Day 4 (Jack the Ripper tour, street art, new pastries)

Leave a Reply

