Is This Real Life? Studying Abroad in London-Day 1

(This first section of blog was written in my notebook on the airplane from Iceland to London)

HELLLLLOOOOO LONDON! (well, almost)…I’m currently writing from my second flight from Iceland to London, and wow has it been a LONG day. My parents and I left Silver Lake Sand Dunes (Mears, MI) around 1 p.m. and arrived at Chicago O’Hare airport around 5-5:30 p.m. I’ve been a mixture of anxiety, excitement, nerves and fear, but at the airport I was ready to rock n’ roll through security (even though saying goodbye to my parents was hard).

I was pretty stressed out the first flight because it was delayed by 30 minutes and I only had an hour layover. Then we didn’t actually take-off until an hour after our original departure time…so yeah I was freaking out. Luckily the plane had a TV in front of each seat, and one of the channels showed a live update of our flight and its arrival time. We landed only 30 minutes later than originally planned, but I still ran off the plane and booked it to my next gate (just to find out it was delayed too)! God is good; I even texted my Mom to have her pray I didn’t miss my connecting flight.

We’re currently 30 minutes from landing in London, and it honestly STILL doesn’t feel real. It’s already hard to adjust to the time change (+4 to Iceland and +1 to London from there), so I basically missed half a day. My first flight left at 8:30 p.m. and arrived at 7 a.m., then my next flight left at 8:05 a.m. and landed at 12:15 p.m. Usually I can sleep my life away traveling in cars or on planes, but I think I was so anxious that i barely was able to. I sat next to a super sweet girl named Megan who was from Boston on her way to visit family here (and yes, we did become Facebook friends).

I’m already enjoying hearing the different languages and accents around the airports; I can only imagine what one of the cultural capitals of the world will sound like! Also, the encouraging notes and messages from everyone have been so helpful and kind. Once we land I’m going to meet up with the CEA team-wish me luck getting through immigration!

END OF DAY ONE REFLECTION

Hello again!

How I feel being in London

I decided to include my end of day reflection the end of this blog while it’s still fresh. I was a sweaty mess walking through the underground terminals at Heathrow airport trying to find my way to the CEA group (and one of my wheels on my suitcase broke…haha)! They all greeted me warmly and I was promptly handed a welcome pack, water, and some yummy chocolate. We waited on three more students to arrive then took the Heathrow Express to Paddington. From there the 5 other students Ubered to Marylebone Hall while I am living at Alexander Flemming Hall (on the fourth floor with no air, eek). Unfortunately, I am the only CEA student in this hall for some reason, and I will admit this upset me and stressed me out a bit at first. However, as the day went on, I decided that I’m exactly where I’m meant to be and will not let the devil try and spoil what God has intended on this trip! I look forward to making friends with those in this building as well as the CEA students and my fellow classmates in my course, Cinematic Justice.

One of my coordinators, Cassandra, took me on a quick walking tour around my block so I can find the nearest Tube station (think, subway system) and bus stop. She also showed me a few cool places to eat and encouraged me to journey around the next few weeks to discover more. I took a few minimal pictures and will include more as I venture out the next three weeks. Cheers!

P.S. They have public urinal things out and about town…so weird!

Public urinal on side of street
One thought on “Is This Real Life? Studying Abroad in London-Day 1

Leave a Reply

